Food

Healthy(ish) Choc-Chip Cookies

Hello and welcome to my first ever post on RileyRaw. This is my own little corner of the internet to share recipes, reviews and anything else that falls under the ambiguous definition of a ‘lifestyle blog.’ I plan to post twice weekly – every Tuesday and Friday – and am very open to and grateful for any suggestions or feedback.

I think if there’s anything worth knowing about me it’s that I have a sweet tooth. As a result, I am in constant need of healthy substitutes for the foods that I love to avoid installing an elastic waistband into my jeans.

These cookies are everything you look for in a sweet treat – minus the self-loathing and regret that follows. I personally added dark chocolate chips because I’m a glutton and can’t help myself, but this recipe works just as well with blueberries, raisins or whatever else you’re looking for in a biscuit.

2017-02-09-15-17-39

These cookies are almost as easy to make as they are to eat – you literally need five ingredients and thirty minutes from start to finish.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of rolled oats
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large, ripe banana
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • Choc chips or other desired filler – I used about a ¼ cup but you can really choose your own adventure based on the day and just how naughty you’re feeling

2017-02-09 15.15.35.jpg

This recipe tends to make about eight cookies.

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C
  2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl. It’s important to note that the riper the banana, the easier it will be to mash. I often mash the banana in the bowl first because I find it easier and cleaner to do without oats flying around the kitchen.
  3. The mixture will be very sticky and unlike regular cookie dough – bear this in mind before getting your hands amongst it – I use a spoon to scoop the mixture onto the baking tray for this reason.

2017-02-09-15-16-29The cookies won’t raise or expand at all so don’t worry too much about leaving space between dollops.

  1. Bake cookies about twenty minutes or until lightly golden.

 

2017-02-09-15-17-02

And you’re all done!

I can’t tell you the shelf life of these as they’ve never lasted more than a couple days in my household but I usually keep them in the fridge because the choc chips have a tendency to melt in the Australian summer.

Please leave a comment to let me know you you get on with this recipe!

Leave a Reply

