Beauty

Review: NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer

The new NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer launched in Australia this week and I’ve got to admit, it’s embarrassing how excited I was for its release. I’m yet to see a single bad review of this miracle pot and couldn’t wait to give it a go myself.

dsc03768

 

I bought this concealer from Mecca Maxima for $44 AUD in the shade Cannelle (light 2.75). Mecca advertise this shade as light with peachy undertones, which I thought would be a good match to counteract the blue tones under my eyes. I also chose a lighter shade as I’ve heard this range run slightly darker than the radiant creamy concealer – for reference I usually wear Santa Fe (medium 2). You get 6.2 grams of product in this little pot which I think is awesome, especially compared to similar products like the Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer which retails for the same price containing only 1.4 grams.

DSC03772.JPG

NARS advertise this product as an oil-free, high coverage, natural looking concealer that blurs and smooths imperfections. The main ingredient is dimethicone (silicone), but it also contains a number of skin-loving ingredients like hyaluronic acid and collagen-boosting peptides which will hydrate and plump the skin.

Under eyes:

Being the first week of uni, I’m currently adjusting to a new sleeping pattern and a little bit of added stress. This paired with a suspected iron deficiency has left me with some pretty dark under eye circles that have been driving me nuts for quite a while now. The camera doesn’t really pick up the discolouration but I assure you – it’s there. I also have premature signs of aging under my eyes that tends to wreak havoc when it comes to applying under eye concealer. Before applying the concealer, I applied my Origins Ginzing eye cream and allowed it time to settle into the skin.

In person I found that this product made a much more noticeable difference than on camera. The concealer did a great job of brightening the area and covering my discolouration. I’ve heard that this product will also smooth the area to offset the appearance of fine lines under the eyes but I honestly couldn’t see any change in that sense.

eye.jpg

Eyelids:

Along with under eye darkness, I have quite pronounced veins on my eyelids that I often struggle to cover. I found that this concealer was awesome to cover the blue veins and the darkness that I find I have in my inner corner. The matte finish of this product would also be great as an eyeshadow base for those of us with oily eyelids.

lid.jpg

Blemishes and Texture:

I’ve had a few minor breakouts on the side of my face this week (possibly a reaction to a new skincare product) that has been causing me grief. I found that the concealer worked great to cover the redness of the area while the natural finish offset the appearance of the texture quite nicely.

texture.jpg

Overall:

For a cream matte concealer, the finish of this product is so natural and light on the skin. I felt that it brightened and concealed all of my problem areas and I can actually see myself wearing this on its own to classes when I just want to look fresh and awake but also natural. I’ve previously only used liquid concealers as every cream product I’ve previously tried has creased and been difficult to work with (I’m looking at you, Bobbi) but this concealer is the absolute opposite. Overall, I would describe this more as a medium rather than the advertised full coverage with a luminous matte finish, similar to that of the All Day Luminous foundation.

whole1.jpg

Leave a Reply

